But that really really isn't my intention. Nor do I want to come across as judgemental but there are a few things that I've realized the past few weeks. I don't need nice restaurants, over priced alcoholic beverages, or artsy fartsy coffee shops to be happy. And sure, it's fun to get a little obnoxious after drinking too much even though I get super sick and always tell myself I'll drink again. But if I was happy before all of these things, I don't see the point in spending money on these things. Sure, it's nice to go somewhere nice with friends for dinner or for drinks and go have over priced coffee somewhere, but I don't NEED these things to be happy. And instead of getting together with everyone and drinking a little and having fun, just cut the booze and hang out in the backyard, or poolside somewhere and have fun.
This post isn't my most organized or well-thought post, but I realized this a few nights ago, and then again tonight.
And I have no problem going out for drinks, or getting coffee or having a little party here and there, but I really really don't want those things to be a huge part of me.
I'm going to be kind of specific for a second. Last Friday evening a few of us met up at a restaurant called Fez and I had a super good time, and enjoyed the brownie and Martini and company, but I was looking around at some of the other people at the restaurant and at that moment got scared to get old. Not just that, but I don't see myself like the people who were there, not that they're bad people by any means, it's just that I don't identify with the people who were there.
Monday evening was also dinner at Delux and I had a BLAST! And my hamburger was BOMB, and my Martini was super duper good. But it's so over-priced, and SO completely un-necessary. Sure, if it's fun then it's money well-spent, but I can have as much fun for a lot less money; if not more fun.
And I partied harder than I'm too proud of during the past few months. And I had a really good time despite getting really sick afterwards but I just don't need alcohol to be goofy and fun; especially not that much alcohol, that's so ridiculous.
And I know I have friends who really enjoy things and places like this and that's SUPER cool for them. I'm happy they're happy with things like this, but I've always been someone who would much rather go somewhere for ice cream and milkshakes and cheeseburgers, or hanging out at someones house just hanging out. I'm SO happy just hanging out and enjoying the company.
Maybe I'm a little stuck in the past and scared of getting old and doing "grown-up" things.
Again, I don't mean to come across as judgemental or arrogant.
Wednesday, May 23, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
Being an adult is overrated.
...and it was for sure a reference to the show. Old faces and some of the more recent ones all in the same place = a hell of a lot of fun
Post a Comment